Shining Knight Award

At the Queen City Classic Simul Reception, CCPF presents the annual Shining Knight Award, which was created in 2010 to recognize deserving individuals for their commitment to their communities.  Over the years, we have recognized a diverse group of people who share a common passion:  improving the lives of others and being a positive role model to the children they serve.

2020 Shining Knight Recipient

“This year’s Shining Knight Award recipient, Tani Adewumi, learned to play chess while living in a homeless shelter in Manhattan. He then went on to win the New York State Scholastic Primary Championship at just 8 years old. Tani has used his platform to promote chess and improve the lives of others that were faced with the same hardships when he took the proceeds awarded to him through a GoFundMe page, and gave back to a community in need.”

Past Recipients

2019 Suzy DeYoung, Founder of La Soupe
2018 Jeff Ruby, Jeff Ruby Culinary Entertainment
2017 Carlos Dunlap, Carlos Dunlap Foundation
2016 – Phiona Mutesi and Robert Katende, Ugandan chess players whose story inspired the Disney film Queen of Katwe
2015 – Mike Brown
, Owner of the Cincinnati Bengals
2014 – Ed Long, Chess Instructor for the Chess in Schools Program
2013 – Rochelle Ballantyne, Chess Player Featured in Brooklyn Castle
2012 – Dr. Phil Lichtenstein, Medical Director of The Children’s Home of Cincinnati
2011 – Dhani Jones, Former Linebacker for the Cincinnati Bengals and Founder of BowTie Cause
2010 – Anthony Munoz, Pro Football Hall of Famer (Offensive Tackle for the Cincinnati Bengals) and founder of the Anthony Munoz Foundation